QUESTION: The Baltimore building where Hendler Ice Cream was produced after 1912 had been built for what purpose prior to Hendler taking over?
A) A Yiddish Theater
B) A Cable Car Powerhouse
C) A Mercantile Business
D) An Automotive Company
Take a ride on the electric tram here at the American Treasure Tour and you will journey through a wonderful and somewhat strange collection of animated and inanimate characters. One of these depicts a miniature person in a uniform - tan clothes, black pants and, most stylish of all, a bow tie. On his shirt is a button that reads "Golden French. Hendler's Ice Cream." The 'golden french' almost certainly refers to one of the many different flavors of ice cream once served by Hendler's, from strawberry to ginger, peppermint to tomato. Still, their most popular was vanilla.
Lionel Manuel Hendler grew up in the dairy business under his father Isaac's tutelage. He was twenty years old in 1905, the year he partnered up with a man named Louis Miller to start making ice cream in his home city of Baltimore, Maryland. Within two short years, Hendler was on his own, and making quality ice cream he delivered to his clients via horse and buggy. Soon enough, Hendler replaced his horses with refrigerated trucks and incorporated an early form of air conditioning into his factory. The demand for Hendler's ice cream was such that it was soon taken across Maryland, and some of the state's less pleasant characters took notice. Hendler's son Albert was once kidnapped, but ultimately released when his abductors realized they would not receive the $30,000 ransom (in 1933 dollars!) they wanted for him. In gratitude, Albert did not report the crime to the police or his family.
By 1929, the success of Hendler's was unquestioned, but Lionel did not want to continue running the business. He sold out to Borden's, who maintained the name until the 1960's, before it passed into history. We are happy to continue celebrating their heritage here at the American Treasure Tour, we only wish we could sample some of their tasty treats.
ANSWER: B) A Cable Car Powerhouse. Built in 1892, it was used for this purpose until 1898.