The Four Lads

QUESTION:  The original name of the Four Lads was Otnorot.  What inspired the name?
A). A Native American tribe.
B). It translates to "The Four Lads" in Tagalog.
C). It is the name of their hometown.
D). It was the nickname of Frank Busseri
ANSWER BELOW

We continue our discussion that we began yesterday about the Fabulous Fours. We started with the Four Aces, and move on today to the Four Lads.  Like the Aces, the Lads started singing together right around 1950. They were schoolmates in Toronto's St. Michael's Choir School (yes, that's a real thing) - Corrado "Connie" Codarini sang bass, John Bernard "Bernie" Toorish was tenor, Jimmy Arnold sang lead and Frank Busseri doubled as baritone and the band's manager. (Novel side note: schoolmates of the Lads would found the Crew-Cuts two years later and score a massive hit with the song "Sh-boom.")

The Four Lads released their first single in 1952, "The Mocking Bird" - a minor hit that paved the way for their first gold record, the memorable "Istanbul (Not Contantinople)," famously remade by They Might Be Giants in 1990.  Other songs reached gold status as well: "Moments to Remember," "No, Not Much," "Standin' On The Corner," and "Who Needs You?"  It was enough to sustain the Lads through the decades. Although their line up has changed due to changing priorities and the challenges of mortality, they continue to entertain audiences to this day.

ANSWER:  C). It was the name of their hometown.  Sort of.  It's actually Toronto backwards.